Intelligent by nature…

…is our new ex cable gland

LEXICON

INTELLIGENT CACTI

INTELLIGENT CACTI

Every plant species has intelligent characteristics. Over the course of evolution, they have developed their own strategies and adapted themselves perfectly to their living environment.

The cactus family [scientific name: Cactaceae, popular name cacti] can grow in dry and hot desert environments. They require only small quantities of water to survive and have evolved additional mechanisms in order to manage this precious resource efficiently.

Instead of leaves, cacti have thorns. Compared to leaves, cactus thorns have much less surface area. Thus cacti lose hardly any water through evaporation. The outer skin of the cactus is also coated with a layer of wax, which protects it from the hot sun and reflects solar radiation. To prevent further drying out, the flat roots of cacti spread out like a web and do not penetrate deep under the ground. In this way, the roots are better able to take up and store water.

INTELLIGENT CABLE GLANDS

INTELLIGENT CABLE GLANDS

Also intelligent by nature is the LevelEx® Ex cable gland from PFLITSCH. Brass or stainless steel, the materials used for the cable gland body, are strong and resistant.

LevelEx® withstands temperatures of -60 °C to +130 °C. Sealing elements made from silicone or PFA/PTFE provide a perfect seal to the cable in moist or dusty environments and ensure the required explosion protection. LevelEx® achieves the highest ingress protection types IP 66 and IP 68 and meets the requirements for explosion protection types pressure-tight encapsulation “Ex-d” and increased safety “Ex-e”.

ADVANTAGES

Cascading sealing principle

Cascading sealing principle

The cascading sealing principle involves a large-area seal and a soft squeezing action

Compact design

Compact design

Space-saving installation and ease of handling thanks to the compact design

Certifications

Certifications

Certified in accordance with the current standards and guidelines

High types of protection

High types of protection

Impressively high types of protection IP 66 and IP 68 (10 bar, 1 hour)

Quick and easy installation

Quick and easy installation

Non-detachable individual parts, large areas in contact with the wrench and small tightening torques ensure installation is quick and easy

Undetachable components

Undetachable components

The sealing elements are of captive design and cannot be lost during assembly

CERTIFICATIONS

ATEX

ATEX

Detail
IECEx

IECEx

Detail
DNVGL

DNVGL

Detail
VDE

VDE

Detail
EAC

EAC

Detail

INDUSTRIES

OIL AND GAS

The oil and gas industry is one of the world’s most important suppliers of energy. Crude oil and natural gas must be transported for processing by pipeline or ship under extreme conditions before it reaches the energy supplier or the consumer. Electrical components used in the extraction, processing and distribution of these energy carriers must be Ex-compatible.

Cable glands are crucial for operational safety and reliability in Ex areas, because they ensure that electrical sparks cannot come into contact with potentially explosive atmospheres and initiate explosions.

PFLITSCH developed LevelEx® for the areas “Ex-d” and “Ex-e”. The product achieves the next “level” in terms of safety. The new LevelEx® Ex cable gland series excels with its compact design, non-detachable parts and a large sealing range. Possible fields of application extend from offshore drilling platforms through refineries to road tankers.

CHEMICAL INDUSTRY

The chemical industry is concerned with the manufacture of chemical products and provides the feedstock for many other branches of industry. The chemical industry is notable for its high degree of automation, adding substantial value to the processed raw material, very expensive research and complex processing technology. Inflammable and explosive gases and liquids are created when processing chemicals or converting one substance to another in the chemical industry. Therefore only ATEX-approved components are used.

Cable glands in particular are crucial for operational safety and reliability in these Ex areas, because they ensure that electrical sparks cannot come into contact with potentially explosive atmospheres and initiate explosions. Cable glands are found in all locations where cables need to be fed safely into control, distribution or switchgear cabinets.

With LevelEx®, PFLITSCH raises the aspect of safety and sealing performance for explosion-protected areas to the next “level”. The new Ex cable gland scores highly with its compact design, fewer and non-detachable parts and a wide range of applications in the automated processes of the chemical industry. These compact cable glands save space and can be simply, safely and reliably installed into system components for the areas “Ex-d” and “Ex-e”.

Special vehicles

Whether it is ocean-going tankers, always on-call fire and rescue services vehicles or road tankers delivering heating oil – safety and reliability have the highest priority in the construction of special vehicles. Pumps, valves, fans, controls and other modules need to be safely cabled, so that the vehicle components function perfectly in frosty, hot, dry or moist conditions and when subject to vibration.

This applies particularly to special vehicles that have to work in potentially explosive atmospheres. As well as the highest sealing performance, reliability, corrosion protection, vibration resistance and durability, these applications also require products approved in accordance with the current ATEX directive. Therefore only ATEX-approved components are used in the construction of special vehicles.

Cable glands play a crucial role for operational safety and reliability in Ex areas, because they ensure that electrical sparks cannot come into contact with the surrounding potentially explosive atmosphere and initiate explosions. LevelEx® from PFLITSCH achieves protection types IP 66 or IP 68 and complies with the requirements for explosion protection types pressure-tight encapsulation “Ex-d” and increased safety “Ex-e”.

Compact design, ease of installation and durability are particularly advantageous in the construction of vehicles. LevelEx® achieves the next “level” with respect to these attributes, because this Ex cable gland excels with its compact design, reduced number of parts and a wide range of applications in the construction of vehicles used on land, in the air or on water.

TESTIMONIALS

We designed LevelEx® based on the latest research findings. Our users will be impressed by the product’s innovative characteristics such as the cascade sealing principle and its ease of installation.

Karlheinz Binder – Project manager Research and Development

With LevelEx®, we are raising the aspect of safety to the next level. It is the perfect choice in industries where the high requirements of “Ex-d” and “Ex-e” must be met. LevelEx® is tested and certified in accordance with the latest regulations and standards.

Benno Saßenbach – Product manager

Von Natur aus intelligent…

…ist unsere neue ex-kabelverschraubung

LEXIKON

Intelligente Kakteen

Intelligente Kakteen

Jede Pflanzenart verfügt über intelligente Eigenschaften. Im Laufe der Evolution haben sie ihre eigenen Strategien entwickelt und sich perfekt ihrem Lebensraum angepasst. Pflanzen besitzen die Fähigkeit, gegen äußere Einflüsse abgehärtet, beständig oder unempfindlich zu sein. Beispiele für solche Einflüsse sind: hohe Temperaturen durch Sonneneinstrahlung, staubige und trockene Luft, Feuchtigkeit, Temperaturen in Minusbereichen, extreme Drücke in Höhenlagen oder unter Wasser.

Kakteengewächse [wiss. Cactaceae, kurz Kakteen] können in trockener und heißer Wüstenumgebung wachsen. Sie brauchen nur wenig Wasser zum Überleben und haben zusätzlich Mechanismen für einen effizienten Umgang mit dieser kostbaren Ressource herausgebildet.

Statt Blätter besitzen Kakteen Dornen. Im Vergleich zu Blättern weisen die Dornen der Kakteen eine deutlich kleinere Oberfläche auf. So verlieren Kakteen kaum Wasser durch Verdunstung. Die Außenhaut von Kakteen ist zudem mit einer Wachsschicht überzogen, welche vor der heißen Sonne schützt und Sonnenstrahlen zurückwirft. Um eine weitere Austrocknung zu verhindern, breiten sich die flachen Wurzeln von Kakteen wie ein Netz aus und dringen nicht tief in den Boden. Auf diese Weise können die Wurzeln der Kakteen das Wasser besser aufnehmen und speichern.

Intelligente Kabelverschraubung

Intelligente Kabelverschraubung

Von Natur aus intelligent ist auch die Ex-Kabelverschraubung LevelEx® von PFLITSCH. Die verwendeten Materialien Messing bzw. Edelstahl des Verschraubungskörpers sind stabil und widerstandsfähig.

Die LevelEx® hält Temperaturen von -60 °C bis +130 °C aus. Die Dichtelemente aus Silikon und PFA/PTFE dichten bei Feuchtigkeit bzw. staubigen Umgebungen zum Kabel hin perfekt ab und sorgen für den gewünschten Explosionsschutz. Die LevelEx® erreicht die hohen Schutzarten IP 66 und IP 68 und hält den Anforderungen an die Zündschutzarten druckfeste Kapselung „Ex-d“ und erhöhte Sicherheit „Ex-e“ stand.

VORTEILE

Kaskadisches Dichtprinzip

Kaskadisches Dichtprinzip

Vollflächige Abdichtung und weiche Quetschung durch kaskadisches Dichtprinzip

Kompakte Bauform

Kompakte Bauform

Platzsparende Montage und einfaches Handling dank kompakter Bauform

Zertifizerungen

Zertifizerungen

Zertifizierungen nach aktuellem Normenstand und Richtlinien

Hohe Schutzarten

Hohe Schutzarten

Überzeugt mit hohen Schutzarten IP 66 und IP 68 (10 bar, 1 Stunde)

Einfache Montage

Einfache Montage

Unverlierbare Einzelteile, große Schlüsselflächen und geringe Anzugsmomente sorgen für eine einfache Montage

Unverlierbare Einzelteile

Unverlierbare Einzelteile

Die Bauteile sind unverlierbar ausgelegt und können bei der Montage nicht verloren gehen

ZERTIFIZIERUNGEN

ATEX

ATEX

Detail
IECEx

IECEx

Detail
DNVGL

DNVGL

Detail
VDE

VDE

Detail
EAC

EAC

Detail

BRANCHEN

ÖL UND GAS

Die Öl- und Gas-Branche gehört zu den wichtigen Energielieferanten. Rohöl und Erdgas werden unter extremen Bedingungen gefördert, per Pipeline oder Schiff zur Verarbeitung transportiert, bevor es den Energieversorger oder Verbraucher erreicht. Bei Gewinnung, Verarbeitung und Verteilung dieser Energieträger müssen elektrische Komponenten Ex-tauglich sein.

Kabelverschraubungen sind entscheidend für die Betriebssicherheit in Ex-Bereichen. Denn sie sorgen dafür, dass elektrische Funken nicht mit der Ex-Atmosphäre in Berührung kommen und Explosionen auslösen.

Die LevelEx® hat PFLITSCH entwickelt für die Bereiche „Ex-d“ und „Ex-e“. Sie erreicht in puncto Sicherheit das nächste „Level“. Die neue Ex-Kabelverschraubungsbaureihe LevelEx® überzeugt mit einer kompakten Bauform, unverlierbaren Teilen und einem großen Einsatzbereich. Mögliche Einsatzfelder reichen von der Offshore-Bohrplattform über Raffinerien bis zu Tankfahrzeugen.

Chemische Industrie

Die chemische Industrie beschäftigt sich mit der Herstellung chemischer Produkte und stellt für viele Wirtschaftszweige die benötigten Stoffe her. Die chemische Industrie zeichnet sich aus durch einen hohen Automationsgrad, eine hohe Wertsteigerung der verarbeiteten Rohstoffe, sehr teure Forschung und aufwändige Verfahrenstechnik. In den Umwandlungsprozessen und den Verarbeitungsschritten der chemischen Industrie entstehen entzündliche wie explosive Gase oder Flüssigkeiten. Daher kommen hier ausschließlich ATEX-zugelassene Komponenten zum Einsatz.

Besonders Kabelverschraubungen sind entscheidend für die Betriebssicherheit in diesen Ex-Bereichen. Denn sie sorgen dafür, dass elektrische Funken nicht mit der Ex-Atmosphäre in Berührung kommen und Explosionen auslösen. Kabelverschraubungen findet man überall da, wo Kabel und Leitungen in Steuerungs- oder Verteilergehäuse sowie Schaltschränke eingeführt werden.

Mit der LevelEx® hebt PFLITSCH das Thema Sicherheit und Dichtigkeit für explosionsgeschützte Bereiche auf das nächste „Level“. Denn die neue Ex-Kabelverschraubung punktet mit kompakter Bauform, wenigen, unverlierbaren Teilen und einem weiten Einsatzbereich in den automatisierten Prozessen der chemischen Industrie. Diese kompakten Kabelverschraubungen ermöglichen eine platzsparende und einfache wie sichere Montage an Anlagenteilen der Bereiche „Ex-d“ und „Ex-e“.

Sonderfahrzeuge

Ob große Tankschiffe, stets einsatzbereite Feuerwehr- und Rettungsfahrzeuge oder der Tankwagen für die Heizöl-Lieferung – Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit haben höchste Priorität beim Bau von Sonderfahrzeugen. Pumpen, Ventile, Lüfter, Steuerungen und andere Module wollen elektrisch sicher verkabelt sein, damit die Fahrzeugkomponenten bei Frost und Hitze, Trockenheit und Feuchtigkeit wie unter Vibration einwandfrei funktionieren.

Dies gilt besonders für Sonderfahrzeuge, die in explosionsgefährdeter Umgebung unterwegs sind. Hier ist neben höchste Dichtigkeit, Zuverlässigkeit, Korrosionsschutz, Vibrationsfestigkeit und Langlebigkeit eine Zulassung nach den aktuellen ATEX-Richtlinien zwingend. Deshalb kommen beim Sonderfahrzeugbau ausschließlich ATEX-zugelassene Komponenten zum Einsatz.

Für die Betriebssicherheit in Ex-Bereichen spielen Kabelverschraubungen eine entscheidende Rolle. Denn sie sorgen dafür, dass elektrische Funken nicht mit der Ex-Atmosphäre der Umgebung in Berührung kommen und dort Explosionen auslösen. Die LevelEx® von PFLITSCH erreicht die Schutzart IP 66 bzw. IP 68 und entspricht den Zündschutzarten druckfeste Kapselung „Ex-d“ und erhöhte Sicherheit „Ex-e“.

Gerade bei Fahrzeugen kommt es auch auf eine kompakte Bauweise, die einfache Montage und Langlebigkeit an. Die LevelEx® erreicht bei diesen Aspekten das nächste „Level“. Denn diese Ex-Kabelverschraubung überzeugt mit ihrer kompakten Bauform, wenigen Teilen und unterschiedlichsten Anwendungsfeldern des Fahrzeugbaus zu Land wie in der Luft oder auf dem Wasser.

TESTIMONIALS

Auf Grundlage neuester Forschungsergebnisse haben wir die LevelEx® entwickelt. Unsere Kunden werden von den innovativen Eigenschaften, wie dem kaskadischen Dichtprinzip und der Montagefreundlichkeit überzeugt sein.

Karlheinz Binder – Projektmanager Forschung und Entwicklung

Mit der LevelEx® heben wir das Thema Sicherheit auf das nächste Level. In Branchen, wo die Erfüllung der hohen Anforderungen von „Ex-d“ und „Ex-e“ Bereichen erforderlich ist, ist sie die perfekte Wahl. Die LevelEx® ist nach den neuesten Vorgaben und Normen geprüft und zertifiziert.

Benno Saßenbach – Produktmanager